Cokin’s Not-So-Neutral “Neutral Density” Filters



Cokin’s Not-So-Neutral "Neutral Density" Filters, originally uploaded by Steffan Harries.

I’ve been using Cokin P-Series filters with the wide angle hold for a while now and it’s alright. I’d give it a six out of ten. If Cokin got they’re act together and fixed this colour cast problem then I’d give them ten out of ten! It’s the only thing holding them back and I fear it’s going to force me to replace my Cokin kit sooner or later. I’ve binned at least a dozen shots because of it and I’m not sure I can live with it anymore.

On the left is the unprocessed image as it came out of the camera with a huge pink/purple cast and on the right is the colour corrected image. For some images the warmer tone is nice but I’d rather have control over the toning of my photo rather than have them cast like this. This shot was taken using an ND4x and ND8x stacked over each other. Stacking NDs seems to make the cast more prominant but it’s pretty visible regardless of filter stacking.

Don’t get me wrong though, I’ve had some pretty decent photos from these filters and some have even been explored like this one and others that have done well that I’ve nearly binned like this. Maybe I’m being a bit harsh on Cokin but I’m tempted to move over to using Hitech filters because of this…and I’m not the only one!

It’s marmite. Some love it. Some hate it.

About this entry