You Get What You Pay For

Dusk on The River Towy, originally uploaded by Steffan Harries.

I’ve complained a lot over the last 12 months about how badly I’ve suffered from owning a cheap filter kit and in the last few days I’ve finally been able to get myself a decent one! My shiny new kit compromises of a Lee Foundation holder, Lee 77mm Wide Angle adapter ring, Hitech 1.2 ND, Hitech 0.6 ND Hard Grad. I really can’t compliment it enough and it goes to show that you really do get what you pay for! The quality is outstanding!. The holder sits incredibly close to the front element of the lens to prevent any light leaking in and the Lee foundation holder is also adaptable because it’s supplied with additional filter blades.

Lee are undoubtedly the best photographic filter manufacturer out there but are also the most costly! This is why I went for the Hitech filters because from what I’ve read about them they have the same neutral colour as Lee’s filters but weigh less and are a helluva lot cheaper! I’ll be putting them to the test over the next few weeks and months but the early results speak for themselves 🙂

About this entry